Prime Minister of the Czech Republic Andrej Babiš visited the NATO CCDCOE

While visiting the Tallinn-based NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence, Prime Minister of the Czech Republic Mr Babiš and Col Jaak Tarien, Director of the NATO CCDCOE, agreed that protecting and updating IT systems and developing security processes along with continuous training and regular practise are essential in tackling potential vulnerabilities.

“In the case of a serious cyber incident, strong partnerships and trusted allies might provide valuable support,“ said Col Jaak Tarien. “We see a great value in having the Czech Republic as a member of the CCDCOE and substantially contributing to the cybersecurity advancement in the Alliance,” Col Tarien added.

„For our government, cyber security is a very important issue. Cyber weapons may be as dangerous as conventional ones. We’ve seen it recently as IT system of the Benešov hospital in Central Bohemia was paralyzed by a cyberattack. We have learned a lesson,“ said PM Babiš. The Czech Republic joined the NATO CCDCOE in 2014 and provides three experts to the Centre. As part of his official visit to Estonia, the Prime Minister Babiš also met with his Estonian counterpart Mr Jüri Ratas and visited the e-Estonia Briefing Centre.

The NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence (NATO CCDCOE) is a NATO-accredited knowledge hub, think-tank and training facility. The international military organisation focuses on interdisciplinary applied research and development, as well as consultations, trainings and exercises in the field of cyber security.

The heart of the Centre is a diverse group of international experts from 25 nations, including legal scholars, policy and strategy experts as well as technology researchers with military, government and industry backgrounds.

Membership of the Centre is open to all Allies. Currently Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States have signed on as Sponsoring Nations of the Centre. Austria, Finland and Sweden have become Contributing Participants – the status available for non-NATO nations.