New Study on the Status of Cybersecurity Organisation in Italy

The NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence (CCDCOE) has published an updated report on national cybersecurity organisation in Italy. The report provides a comprehensive overview of the current cybersecurity landscape in Italy and, in particular, reflects the legislative and structural changes that the country has undertaken since 2015 when the first edition of the report was published.

The updated Italy country report outlines the developments in division of cybersecurity roles and responsibilities between agencies in Italy, describing their mandate, tasks, and competences as well as coordination between them. In particular, the report covers the policy and legal framework and strategic management; operational cybersecurity capabilities and cyber incident management organisation; military cyber defence; and cyber aspects of crisis prevention and management. The report serves as an introduction to the broader digital ecosystem of the country and outlines the Italian cybersecurity strategy objectives that provide context for the organisational approach.

The CCDCOE report “National Cybersecurity Organisation: Italy” by Samuele De Tomas Colatin, researcher at the Centre´s Law Branch, is part of the National Cybersecurity Governance Series published by the NATO CCDCOE. The aim of the series is to improve awareness of cybersecurity management in the varied national settings, support nations enhancing their own cybersecurity governance, encourage the spread of best practices, and contribute to the development of interagency and international cooperation.

Full report is available on CCDCOE´s homepage´s Library section. Please note that this report is a product of the NATO CCDCOE. It does not necessarily reflect the policy or the opinion of the Centre or NATO.

The CCDCOE is a NATO-accredited cyber defence hub focusing on research, training and exercises. It represents a community of 25 nations providing a 360-degree look at cyber defence, with expertise in the areas of technology, strategy, operations and law. The NATO-accredited centres of excellence are not part of the NATO Command Structure.

The Centre is staffed and financed by its member nations, currently Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States.