President of Albania Ilir Meta paid a visit to the NATO CCDCOE

As part of his official visit to Estonia, President Meta visited the NATO CCDCOE. The Centre welcomed the President of Albania, a NATO Ally, and briefed the Albanian delegation about the Centre´s activities, with special emphasis on training and exercises. During the meeting, the prospects for long-term cooperation in cyber security were discussed.

“As the NATO-accredited cyber defence hub, the CCDCOE is actively promoting interdisciplinary and international approach to the Alliance´s cyber defence capabilities. Our experience shows that the challenges in the cyber domain can only be tackled with an interdisciplinary approach, through cooperation among like-minded nations, engaging military, academia, government and industry,” said Col Jaak Tarien, Director the NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence.

“We are looking forward to working together with all the Allies, Albania among them, to make the cyberspace more secure. Albania is most welcome to explore the outlook of joining the currently 25-nations strong Centre for the long-time cooperation in cyber defence,” said Col Tarien.

The NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence (NATO CCDCOE) is a NATO-accredited knowledge hub, think-tank and training facility. The international military organisation focuses on interdisciplinary applied research and development, as well as consultations, trainings and exercises in the field of cyber security.

The heart of the Centre is a diverse group of international experts from 25 nations, including legal scholars, policy and strategy experts as well as technology researchers with military, government and industry backgrounds.

Membership of the Centre is open to all Allies. Currently Belgium, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States have signed on as Sponsoring Nations of the Centre. Austria, Finland and Sweden have become Contributing Participants – the status available for non-NATO nations.