Ireland joining the NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence

The Republic of Ireland has decided to join the NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence (NATO CCDCOE). Irish Ambassador to Estonia H. E. Ms Frances Kiernan visited the Centre today to submit the Letter of Intent and thereby start the accession process.

“With its strong digital economy and society, we believe that Ireland is a country that is very much aware about the security risks in cyberspace. Accordingly, the Irish decision to contribute to tackling various cybersecurity challenges at the international level along with a community of like-minded nations that we have in the CCDCOE is mutually beneficial, highly welcome and most timely having in mind the current Cyber Security Awareness Month, ” said Colonel Jaak Tarien, Director of the NATO CCDCOE

„Irish decision to join the CCDCOE opens up new avenues for cooperation in the field of cyber defence. The multinational nature of the Centre helps to tie together national experiences and bring synergy in cyber skills and knowledge. We are looking forward to have an Irish cyber expert joining our interdisciplinary team,” added Col Tarien

The NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence is a NATO-accredited knowledge hub, think-tank and training facility. The international military organisation focuses on interdisciplinary research and development, as well as training courses and exercises in the field of cyber security.

The heart of the Centre is a diverse group of international experts from currently 25 nations, including legal scholars, policy and strategy experts as well as technology researchers with military, government and industry backgrounds.

Membership of the Centre is open to all Allies, the Centre is also welcoming cooperation with like-minded Partners. Currently Belgium, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States have signed on as Sponsoring Nations of the Centre. Austria, Finland and Sweden are part of the Centre as Contributing Participants – the status available for non-NATO nations.