Finnish, Greek and Turkish Flag Fly at the NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence

Finland, Greece and Turkey finalised their accession process to the NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence today. The Hellenic Republic and the Republic of Turkey joined as sponsoring nations and the Republic of Finland as a contributing participant.

“The fact that the membership of the Centre is expanding shows the growing importance of cyber defence. Cyber has evolved into a domain of warfare next to land, sea, air and space. It has changed our lives and will change warfare,” noted Sven Sakkov, director of the think tank and training facility. The NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence helps nations prepare for this future, highlighted Sakkov.

“Cyber poses a new global challenge that no nation can face alone. It is touching to see our flag fly side by side with so many others,” emphasised General Arto Räty, Permanent Secretary of the Finnish Ministry of Defence. Finland contributes to the Centre because networking and cooperation are the only way to assure effective cyber defence, General Räty added.  

“Cyber security has become a critical element of our defence planning. NATO CCDCOE has been acknowledged over the last years as the major actor to enhance the cooperation and cyber capability among allies and partners,” noted Ambassador of the Hellenic Republic Constantine Catsambis at the flag raising ceremony.

Cyber space connects people, offers opportunities for our economies and it transforms our societies in an irreversible way. Yet, it has also made our societies extremely vulnerable against risks and threats,” said Hayriye Kumaşcıoğlu, Ambassador of the Republic of Turkey. By joining the NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence, Turkey contributes to a more secure cyberspace, Ambassador added.

The Tallinn-based NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence is a NATO-accredited knowledge hub, think-tank and training facility. The international military organisation focuses on interdisciplinary applied research and development, as well as consultations, trainings and exercises in the field of cyber security. The Centre’s mission is to enhance capability, cooperation and information-sharing between NATO, Allies and partners in cyber defence.

Membership of the Centre is open to all Allies. The Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Greece, the Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Spain, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the USA have signed on as sponsoring nations. Austria and Finland have joined the Centre as contributing participants. The Centre is funded and staffed by these nations.

Photos of the event are available at (Photographer Juss Saska, Estonian Defence Forces) and can be freely used with proper credits.